Your Internet Safety

Are you at risk of abuse because you are looking at domestic violence web sites?

E-mail

If anyone has access to your e-mail account, they may be able to read your incoming and outgoing mail. If you believe your account is secure, make sure you choose a password they will not be able to guess. Always log out of your email account and any other online account to ensure another user can’t use ‘auto login’. If anyone sends you threatening or harassing e-mail messages, they may be printed and saved as evidence of this abuse. Additionally, the messages may constitute a criminal offence. For more information, contact the Police.

How someone else can discover your internet activities:

History / cache file

If someone knows how to read your computer's history or cache file (automatically saved web pages and graphics), they may be able to see information you have viewed recently on the internet. You can clear your history or empty your cache file in your browser's settings, as explained further below for some web browsers.

This information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browsers have features that display recently visited sites. The safest way to find information on the internet may be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.

Internet Explorer (any version):

By default, the menu may be hidden. Press the Alt key on the keyboard to display the menu. In the Tools menu, select Internet Options. On General page, under Browsing History, click on "Delete". Make sure the "Temporary Internet files", "Cookies', and "History" checkboxes are checked. Click on "Delete".

Private Browsing for Internet Explorer 8 or 9:

Alternatively, before navigating to a website, use Internet Explorer's "InPrivate Browsing" which tells the browser not to remember anything you do from that point onwards until you close the browser. This can be accessed by going to the Safety dropdown menu and selecting InPrivate Browsing.

Additional option for Internet Explorer 9:

You can also access the Safety menu by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right hand corner of the window. Then select Safety and click on Delete browsing history.

Google Chrome:

Click the spanner icon on the browser toolbar. Select Tools. Select Clear browsing data. In the dialogue that appears, select the "Clear browsing history" checkbox. Select beginning of time to clear your entire browsing history. Click Clear browsing data. In the dialogue that appears, click Clear browsing history, Clear download history, Empty the cache, Delete cookies and other site data.

Netscape:

Pull down Edit menu, select Preferences. Click on Navigator on choose 'Clear History'. Click on Advanced then select Cache. Click on "Clear Disk Cache".

On older versions of Netscape: Pull down Options menu. Select Network Options, Select Cache. Click on "Clear Disk Cache".

Firefox:

Before navigating to a website, use Firefox's "Private Browsing" which tells the browser not to remember anything you do from that point onwards until you close the browser. This can be accessed by going to the Tools menu and selecting Start Private Browsing.

If you have already started browsing you can clear your history by going to the Tools menu, then select Clear Recent History. Under "Time Range to Clear" select "Everything". Make sure all checkbox items that have now appeared in the Details area are checked. Click "Clear Now".

Privacy tips for Facebook

Here are 10 top ways to protect your privacy on Facebook according to the unofficial Facebook blog All Facebook:

1. Remove yourself from Facebook searches. By default, Facebook makes your presence visible to the network you are in. Often people aren't aware of their visibility, so this is one of the first settings which should be changed.

2. Remove yourself from Google. To make yourself less visible to Google and other search engines, go to the 'Privacy Settings' page on your Facebook account to modify.

3. Avoid the photo/video tag mistake. To avoid getting your name next to embarrassing photos, go to your 'Profile Privacy' page, modify the setting next to 'Photos Tagged of You' and select the option which says "Customize" to change.

4. Protect your albums. Go to your 'Photos Privacy' page to manually configure the visibility of each of your albums.

5. Use your friend lists to create private groupings of friends based on your personal preferences.

6. Control who sees your 'Basic Information', which includes things like your relationship status. When changes are made to your 'Basic Information', it automatically appears as a news feed. To change this setting, go to 'Basic Information' on the 'Profile Privacy' page.

7. Protect against published application stories. Once you install an application on Facebook, you should check your profile to ensure no embarrassing notification has been posted to your profile.

8. Make your 'Contact Information' private. If you've chosen to enter this information on your profile, you should see a 'Contact Information' area under the 'Info' tab - simply click 'Edit' to modify the privacy setting.

9. Avoid embarrassing wall posts. Within your profile page, you can control who can view wall postings made by your friends. Click on the 'Settings' icon on the wall in your profile page.

10. Keep your friendships private. To make your friends less visible to others, go to the 'Profile Privacy' page.

24 Hour Crisis Line


07 377 1055

Our Sponsors